Facts & Figures

The FABEC area
The Functional Airspace Block Europe Central – FABEC – covers the lower and upper airspace of six States (Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Switzerland) located at the heart of continental Europe. This airspace is one of the busiest and most complex in the world. Most of the large European airports and major civil airways and military zones are located in this area. Owing to its size and central position in Europe, FABEC is a cornerstone of the Single European Sky.

FABEC airspace is characterised by:

  • a complex and dense ATS route network
  • an area of 1.7 million km2, equalling 9% of the surface area of the European continent: the FABEC airspace has the dimensions of 960 NM (1,780 km) from north to south and 990 NM (1,835 km) from east to west
  • 5.6 million flights per year, equalling 55% of all European air traffic
  • about 400 military/special areas
  • some 370 control sectors
  • 14 area control centres (Brussels, Bordeaux, Brest, Marseille, Paris, Reims, Bremen, Munich, Karlsruhe, Langen, Maastricht, Amsterdam, Geneva and Zurich)
  • some 240 airports equipped for
    instrument flights
  • 4 major intercontinental hub airports (Paris,
    Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Munich) and proximity to the London airports
  • about 17,000 civil employees, including 5,400 air traffic controllers, plus military staff